-1
\$\begingroup\$

Given the following dataframe:

|      ID             |     date                       |
|---------------------|--------------------------------|
|          1          |     2022-02-03 22:01:12+01:00  |
|          2          |     2022-02-04 21:11:21+01:00  |
|          3          |     2022-02-05 11:11:21+01:00  |
|          4          |     2022-02-07 23:01:12+01:00  |
|          5          |     2022-02-07 14:31:14+02:00  |
|          6          |     2022-02-08 18:12:01+02:00  |
|          7          |     2022-02-09 20:21:02+02:00  |
|          8          |     2022-02-11 15:41:25+02:00  |
|          9          |     2022-02-15 11:21:27+02:00  |

I would like to optimise the code of the following function:

Returns all rows whose date (YYYY-MM-DD) matches the date passed by parameter.

# Function to search by exact %Y-%m-%d date
def select_exact_date(df, date):
    date = pd.to_datetime(date, format='%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S')
    date_dt = date.date()
    # Create a copy of the original df
    subset = df.copy()
    # Creates a temporary column to store the values related to the specific date
    subset['tmp_date'] = subset['date'].apply(lambda a: a.date())
    mask = (subset['tmp_date'] == date_dt)
    df = df.loc[mask]
    return df

Result:

select_exact_date(df, '2022-02-07')
#Output
|      ID             |     date                       |
|---------------------|--------------------------------|
|          4          |     2022-02-07 23:01:12+01:00  |
|          5          |     2022-02-07 14:31:14+02:00  |

I hope you can help me. Thank you in advance.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Where does the date string parameter actually come from? I ask because if it's far-removed from user input or file content, it should have been converted to a datetime object earlier than where you show it. \$\endgroup\$
    – Reinderien
    Mar 27, 2022 at 18:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Reinderien is added by the user and shall always be in the format 'YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS'. \$\endgroup\$
    – Carola
    Mar 27, 2022 at 18:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ OK, but that's not exactly what I'm asking. Added by the user how? input() five functions ago? Read from a file into a different dataframe? Etc. \$\endgroup\$
    – Reinderien
    Mar 27, 2022 at 18:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Reinderien That doesn't matter, I'm asking for help to optimise the code of the function. Treat it as a black box. \$\endgroup\$
    – Carola
    Mar 27, 2022 at 18:24

1 Answer 1

1
\$\begingroup\$

That doesn't matter

Context does matter. A strict interpretation of the site guidelines would consider your question off-topic due to insufficient context, since code can't be reviewed in a vacuum (a black box, as you put it). If you think context doesn't matter in a review, then you might as well say that reviewing the code doesn't matter, either.

In this case, it does matter where your date comes from, because you've failed to type-hint it so it could be anything that pd.to_datetime accepts:

arg: int, float, str, datetime, list, tuple, 1-d array, Series, DataFrame/dict-like

I'm going to make a sweeping assumption: that your date parameter is a datetime.date object, as it should be.

It seems that you've left the date column full of datetime.datetime timezone-aware objects. Working with Pandas will be made more difficult than it needs to be using this approach. Consider instead coercing the date column to an actual Pandas UTC datetime, avoiding apply() like the plague:

from datetime import date
from io import StringIO

import pandas as pd

# ...

    f = StringIO(
'''ID,date
1,2022-02-03 22:01:12+01:00
2,2022-02-04 21:11:21+01:00
3,2022-02-05 11:11:21+01:00
4,2022-02-07 23:01:12+01:00
5,2022-02-07 14:31:14+02:00
6,2022-02-08 18:12:01+02:00
7,2022-02-09 20:21:02+02:00
8,2022-02-11 15:41:25+02:00
9,2022-02-15 11:21:27+02:00'''
    )
    df = pd.read_csv(
        f,
        parse_dates=['date'],
        index_col='ID',
    )

    date_to_select = date(2022, 2, 7)
    utc_dates = pd.to_datetime(df.date, utc=True).dt.date
    matching_rows = df[utc_dates == date_to_select]

If it matters that the exact local timezone's day boundaries be respected you'll need to get more creative.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.